Expected Surprises

Another week comes another weekly report over something intellectual – something brilliant – about the amazing field of neuroscience that I had learned. However, business symposium had some expected surprises waiting for me.

With initial thoughts that symposium would be a great way to network with medical professionals and expedite the process of finding interviewees and possible mentors, symposium did none of these things. Rather it opened a whole new universe (maybe planet..) of possibilities for me. While listening to the guest speaker, two colossally impactful things struck me:

  1. You have to love what you do.
  2. You have to do what you love.

These things may seem essentially the same, however, they explicate two distinct things while considering your future. Firstly, I had to examine if I’ve been enjoying what I’ve been doing in ISM – all of the research assessments, weekly reports, informational interviews, and so on. Red Flag. Then, I had to consider if I even chose a topic that resembled my leisure activities – things that I CHOSE to do with spare time. Red Flag.

Don’t get me wrong – I absolutely love the mind. I find it brilliantly fascinating how infinite it is and how metacognitive it is as well. But none of those things changed the fact that I simply dreaded ISM. I began to forget why I even enrolled in this course – until symposium. I realized that the tasks of ISM shouldn’t be tasks at all, rather gifts. I have to get to pursue what I love (for a grade!). So, I began to question myself “what do I really want to do?”. This led me to a stream of consciousness of all the different things I spend my free time doing – and everything I listed all seemed to come back to filmography/photography/videography. Seems like a pretty obvious answer. And even better, I knew it all along.

In fact, filmography had been a major contender in possible fields of undergraduate study. The practical me won the battle, but the passionate me is rising to possibly win the war. While I do not know if film is completely for me, I believe that ISM is the “no harm no foul” way to find out. And in the end, if I ultimately conclude that it is not for me, at least I can continue into neuroscience with a peace of mind, knowing that I will have no regrets.

Leave a Reply

