3 Days 2 Nights

This past weekend, I was able to visit Austin, Texas. As my mentor lives in Austin, I thought it would be beneficial to kill two birds with one stone and have a mentor visit sometime throughout the duration of my trip.

We were able to meet up at a Starbucks in downtown Austin. We walked around and collected some footage for my video film, which is one component of my final product. While we filmed different things around Austin, she taught me general as well specific tips to consider when filming.

One big thing she taught me was that even video films can tell stories, which has helped my editing process. While there is no elaborate plot line, there is still so much you can share through simple scenes while documenting a trip – with the use of different angles, lighting, and content.

As I prepare for my original work speech, I plan on completing my video film so that I can incorporate it in my presentation. As I am also using Adobe Premiere – a new editing software that I am testing out – and it has been nothing less than a challenge. Being what some film professionals use to edit, there are so many complex tools and layouts, but I am nevertheless excited to finish up the first film for my portfolio and share it in my presentation.

Leave a Reply

