Work Day(s)

After collecting 99% (I still need to film one or two more shots for the b-roll) of the footage for my documentary, I am left with the entirety of post production. Editing has been the biggest culprit of my late nights, but definitely (and thankfully) something I enjoy! After meeting with my mentor, we had to scrap the draft I currently had (which had probably around 10-12 hours of editing) and start fresh.

As we had two cameras, I had missed a step in synchronizing the clips before I had started editing. Therefore, we had to download PluralEyes and match the audio to convert the footage into a multi-camera system. While a tedious process that set my my editing schedule, my mentor taught me a lot of the ins and outs of editing documentaries on Adobe Premiere, helping and saving me a lot of time in the long run.

As I am making progress in the post production stage of my documentary, I started to realize how interesting documentaries are. You’re hearing a story that is actually true – something real and something that has happened and maybe still happening. This story comes from somebody or something and it opens you to an entire life that you were once unaware of. In my case, my documentary invites the audience into one of the toughest yet most rewarding time in his life.

Leave a Reply

